ACTION ALERT: S295: An Act Relative to Preventing the Sexual Abuse of Children and Youth

Action: S295 – An Act Relative to Preventing the Sexual Abuse of Children and Youth, authored by Senator Lovely, is scheduled to have a hearing before the Joint Committee on Education tomorrow. The bill is comprehensive in scope, and aims to prevent sexual abuse of children in schools, requiring teacher/employee training, educating youth about boundaries and reporting violations, and much more. Please see the fact sheet for more details about what the bill does and why it is needed.

Did you know that every 8 minutes child protective services substantiates, or finds evidence for, a claim of child sexual abuse. The Centers for Disease Control estimate that 1 in 6 boys and 1 in 4 girls will be a victim of sexual abuse before the age of 18. We need this bill!

What to do:

Contact the members of the Joint Committee on Education to let them know you support S295. Ask that they report the bill favorably out of committee.

Sonia.Chang-Diaz@masenate.gov, Patricia.Jehlen@masenate.gov,
Jason.Lewis@masenate.gov, barbara.l’italien@masenate.gov, Mike.Barrett@masenate.gov, Patrick.OConnor@masenate.gov

Alice.Peisch@mahouse.gov, Chris.Walsh@mahouse.gov, John.Rogers@mahouse.gov, Rep.smitty@mahouse.gov, James.Cantwell@mahouse.gov, Diana.Dizoglio@mahouse.gov, Paul.Tucker@mahouse.gov, Chynah.Tyler@mahouse.gov, Bud.Williams@mahouse.gov, Kimberly.Ferguson@mahouse.gov, James.Kelcourse@mahouse.gov

More information:

S295 text

S295 Fact Sheet

Boston Globe Article about S295

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s