ACTION ITEM: Postcard campaign to State House to Support Safe Communities Act

Action: The Safe Communities Act is stuck in committee at the State House. Meanwhile folks like Jesus Lara and Francisco Rodriguez are being detained and deported. We need to get this bill out of committee, onto the floor of the house and senate for a vote, and signed into law to start helping people ASAP. Let’s FLOOD the state house with postcards in support of this bill. If your Rep. and/or Senator has already signed on (lucky you!) – send postcards/emails to the committee members!

From the ACLU:

Immigrants are facing unprecedented attacks — and we need legislative leaders in Massachusetts to intervene and get serious about passing the Safe Communities Act (S.1305, H.3269), which would protect the health, civil rights and safety of all state residents.

The Safe Communities Act is currently awaiting action by the Joint Committee on Public Safety and Homeland Security, but it won’t move forward without a lot of public pressure.

The bill’s lead sponsors, Rep. Juana Matias and Sen. Jamie Eldridge, have written a “Dear Colleague” letter to the Committee Chairs asking for a favorable report of the bill.

Committee members:

Michael.Moore@masenate.gov, Michael.Brady@masenate.gov, Sonia.Chang-Diaz@masenate.gov, Mike.Rush@masenate.gov, William.Brownsberger@masenate.gov, Richard.Ross@masenate.gov, Harold.Naughton@mahouse.gov, Alan.Silvia@mahouse.gov, Thomas.Walsh@mahouse.gov, Bruce.Ayers@mahouse.gov, James.Dwyer@mahouse.gov, Rady.Mom@mahouse.gov, Paul.Tucker@mahouse.gov, Juana.Matias@mahouse.gov, Chynah.Tyler@mahouse.gov, Bud.Williams@mahouse.gov, David.Vieira@mahouse.gov, David.Muradian@mahouse.gov, Peter.Durant@mahouse.gov

Link to MA Legislature Committee on Public Safety & Homeland Security if you want to send postcards.

Senate Committee Contact Address:

Senator Michael Moore
24 Beacon Street
Room 109B
Boston, MA 02133

House Committee Contact Address:

Rep. Naughton
24 Beacon Street
Room 167
Boston, MA 02133

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s